top of page
IMG_1965.jpg

Orangetheory Fitness: Pepper's Workout Obsession (and Yours) for 2019

Updated: Feb 18, 2019

We all start the new year with that same resolution – I will exercise!!! As the days, weeks, and months go by you most likely give up that resolution by February or March (tops). You give up for a number of reasons – its too hard, you don’t have enough time, you hate working out, its too far, it’s not working, and the list goes on and on. I’ve been in the exact same boat year after year.  I’ve always dreamed of being that person who runs marathons, loves to work out, sticks with it, and never gives up. But no matter what I’ve tried - personal trainers, Classpass, taking dance classes -  I end up starting the year strong and with the of best intentions. Yet by the time March rolls around I am officially a no-show. Confession: I never stick with anything.  At least, that was the case until I found the phenomenon that is Orangetheory!


orange theory fitness, orange theory, fitness, wellness, healthy, workouts, new fitness, treadmill, rowing machine, nothing feels better than a finished workout

I heard about Orangetheory from some friends and I saw many people posting about it on Instagram. These devotees were obsessively showcasing their undying love for this new exercise program with photos of rowing machines and people running like crazy on treadmills.  I was intrigued and curious if the class was really *that* good and how it could be so different from other exercise classes that I’ve taken (and quit).  A co-worker suggested I take a class with her because she already signed up for a membership.  It felt less daunting to go with someone else and, truth be told, I was really scared about running and rowing.  I hate running on a treadmill and I had never used a rowing machine.  But hey! It was a free class, and the worst thing that could happen was that I hated it and never went back.  So, I gave it a shot.

For those of you not familiar with the format of Orangetheory (aka OTF) let me break it down. It’s a heart rate, interval-based training program that uses a treadmill, rowing machine, and weights.  As you go through each station, you monitor your heart rate through a device worn either on your chest or arm.  The goal of the workout is to get in the "orange zone" for 12 minutes.  The "orange zone" is a target (high) heart rate, and when you reach the orange zone you are rewarded with "splat points."  If you achieve 12 or more splat points during your workout you will continue burning calories for up to 36 hours after your workout - and who doesn't want that?  Now, you might be thinking that there is no way you can run on the treadmill, but here is the great thing about OTF: you can go at YOUR OWN PACE (and not feel ashamed). If you want to (or can) run, then run.  If you want to jog, jog away! And there is no shame in walking!  There is a huge screen displaying the calories burned, heart rates, color zone (green, orange, or red), and splat points of every class participant.  It makes the OTF competitive - not only with yourself but with others and it is really fun! As it turns out, I didn’t hate it.  In fact, I loved Orangetheory and I became just as obsessed as all of those Instragram posters. 


The Orangetheory workout is hard, but hard in a way that makes me want to try to push myself as opposed to just giving up.  It is invigorating, challenging, and motivating all that same time. I decided to buy a 10 pack and keep the orange train going.  I haven’t given up and in fact I’ve done the opposite. I’ve committed more than I ever thought was possible. I even survived hell week, which I’ll have to tell you about in another post. I try to do 4 classes per week, and I can also work out when I am away from home because locations are popping up everywhere.  There is nothing better than the feeling I have when I finish a class.  If I’m feeling tired, depressed, fat, or bored this class makes me feel like a new person. mIn those 60 minutes I exude strength, determination, and perseverance and feel like a billion bucks. The feeling but it is absolutely addicting!  The biggest transformation I’ve experienced is the change I have seen in my mental health because of those fabulous little endorphins! I am beyond thankful that I found this program.  It is a place where I feel safe and a place where I am best self.  Now my new year resolution is to share my experiences with OTF with others because I have no doubt this is one year I won’t be giving up! 

- Pepper

0 comments
Home: Blog2
Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
Home: Contact

Subscribe to The Pearl and Pepper

Something to Say?  Contact Us!

Thank you for reaching out!

bottom of page