top of page
IMG_1965.jpg

Stashing your Stuff: Eco-Friendly Reusable Bags

It’s 2019 and being eco-friendly is no longer a maybe, it’s a must! From states passing laws to ban the use of plastic straws, to charging for plastic bags, and mandating composting, being eco-friendly is starting to become a part of the fabric of our daily lives. I’ll admit it. For a long time, I wasn’t the most environmentally conscious person. However, having lived in Seattle for three years, pleading ignorance is no longer an option. It’s a city that lives and breathes sustainability. It has changed the way I view my carbon footprint and with so many new options in the ways of re-usability, it’s hard not to stand up and take notice.


I now do my part by recycling, composting, and I even use compostable or re-usable straws and cutlery. However, until recently the one thing I had not yet left behind were my precious Ziploc bags. I was going to Costco or Target and purchasing box after box. They were all I knew, and it didn’t even occur to me that there was a better solution out there. And all the while I did not know how much I was wasting every time I packed a snack or kept leftovers in the fridge or freezer and then threw the baggie away. Not to mention that plastic is filled with BPAs and who knows what else, which can be toxins for your body.


Stasher Bags to the rescue! I came across these online one day while looking on Amazon for Tupperware options. They caught my eye straight away, not only because of the beautiful assortment of colors but the idea that they were re-usable and made of silicone. I felt like I had found the missing piece to my environmentally-friendly puzzle.

These cute (yes, reusable bags can be cute) come in three different sizes: the sandwich size for $11.99 (15.5 oz), the half-gallon size for $19.99 (64.2 oz), and the snack size $9.99 (9.9 oz). You can buy them individually or in a pack. They come in array of different colors – clear, aqua, quartz, and mine just happen to green. 😊 They even have a cosmic shimmer collection for those of you looking for some sparkle in your life.




The bags are made from silicone, are BPA free, are dishwasher safe, and the best part is you can throw them in the microwave, oven, freezer, or fridge. Not only are the they great for food but they are just as effective for holding any household good, beauty item, or they can even be used as a gift bag. It really is the endlessly reusable bag, as described in their company mission statement. I've found myself using them frequently as travel bags, holding all of my flight essentials. The sandwich size bag is perfect for all those essentials you need a long-haul flight! You can even label them with a dry erase marker to keep track of all of your goodies. They are self-sealing, air tight, and literally last forever. You can buy them directly from their website and they are also available at your local Target or on Amazon.


These really are a one stop shop for all of your storage needs! Think of them as storage with style. Time to say bye-bye to those Ziploc bags and hello to starting your stash!

0 comments
Home: Blog2
Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
Home: Contact

Subscribe to The Pearl and Pepper

Something to Say?  Contact Us!

Thank you for reaching out!

bottom of page